Movie Monday: The Revenant and The Danish Girl

Movie Monday is a new feature I decided to host on my blog.

From now on, Mondays will be reserved for my ramblings about movies I watched lately.

Since watching movies is what I really like to do in my spare time, I tought Movie Mondays would be a great addition to my book blog, especially when so many movies nowadays is inspired by or based on a book.

This week I want to talk about two movies I watched and they both happen to be inspired by books. First one being The Revenant and the second being The Danish Girl.

 

The Revenant 

revenant

 

In whole honesty, the first and main reason I decided to watch this movie was the one and only: Leonardo DiCaprio. The second reason was that I knew it was something my boyfriend would like.

I was right. He loved it! But I loved it too! I loved the story, I loved the nature we saw in the movie, I loved all the action scenes, effects, just everything about this movie, but what I liked the most were acting performances. I think both Leonardo DiCaprio and Tom Hardy should win Oscars this year because theye were AMAZING.

Maybe the movie lenght is a bit too long but I understand why it is so.

If you have a chance I suggest you to go and watch it because you won’t regret it.

I pressume that the female audience don’t feel  a rush when it comes to seeing this film, but there is a great chance you will love it more then you think you will. I know that situation happened to me.

 

The Danish Girl

Going into this movie I didn’t quite know what to expect. I knew it was a movie about the first transgender woman but didn’t know anything about her.

This movie has such a beautiful story. It woke my emotions and I cried several times wthe danish girlhile
watching, even though I am not the one who cries easily (the train scene was just so sad).

Eddie Redmayne was amazing in playing his role, and his coleague Alicia Vikander was great. Alicia is not only a good actress, but is also very beautiful to watch. I hope to see her in more movies in the future.

I recommend this one highly.

 

movie monday vrpca

If you ask me which one is better, I would have to say The Danish Girl has a story, but overall I think The Revenant is better in quality and performance.

I have to admit that I am a HUGE Leo Di fan so there is a slight chance that I am subjective here.

 

Note: Pictures in this post are not my property but taken from IMDb site and are property of 20th Century FOX and Universal Pictures International.

 

6 thoughts on “Movie Monday: The Revenant and The Danish Girl

    • Thanks! I was thinking about it and said to myself “Why not?”
      I really liked The Revenant, I am thinking about going to Cinema again to watch it, but then again there’s just so many new movies that I also want to see.

      Like

  1. I love Alicia Vikander, have you seen The Man From U.N.C.L.E. movie? It’s great fun and she’s really good in it (I’m weirdly obsessed with that film lol I’m a sucker for Guy Ritchie’s style). I want to see The Danish Girl as it looks like a wonderful movie, but I’ll probably wait until it’s released on iTunes.

    I do love Tom Hardy (I saw Legend for him *sigh*) but The Revenant really does not look like my kind of movie (I have an aversion to survival type movies), not even him being in it can sway me :/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had the same impression for The Revenant when first saw the trailer, and I went to watch it just because of Leo Di, but was pleasently surprised.
      I didn’t see The Man From U.N.C.L.E., tbh I don’t even know about that movie, but will check it out. Thanks!

      Like

  2. I love Eddie Redmayne and Alicia Vikander (you should watch Vikander in Testament of Youth – a wonderful film), but I thought the Danish Girl did not know what kind of film it wanted to be. I did think the acting was fantastic though. I am also a huge Leo DiCaprio fan and enjoyed The Revenant as well, though I also thought it was long.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, another Leo Di fan! 🙂
      I asume you were extremly happy when he got an Oscar, just like I was (even though we all saw that coming).
      But what I defenitely didn’t see coming was Spotlight beating The Revenant.
      Thank you for the recommendation, I’ll have to see if I can watch that movie somewhere, and give it a try.
      I watched The Man from the U.N.C.L.E. with here (by recommendation) but I wasn’t wowed.
      Also, I was so hapy to see Alicia won an Oscar too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

