Book Review: The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters

the second love

Title: The Second Love of My Life
Author: Victoria Walters
Publisher: Headline Review
Date: April 7th, 2016
Pages: 320
Format: paperback ARC
Source: Won in a giveaway

 

Synopsis (from Goodreads)Victoria Walters’ debut novel is a powerful tale of love, grief and survival, perfect for fans of Cecelia Ahern, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson. ‘Brilliant and superior women’s fiction’Heat

In the Cornish town of Talting, everyone is famous for something.

Until recently Rose was known for many things: her infectious positivity; her unique artistic talent; and her devotion to childhood sweetheart Lucas.

But two years ago that changed in one unthinkable moment. Now, Rose is known for being the young woman who became a widow aged just twenty-four.

Though Rose knows that life must go on, the thought of carving out a new future for herself is one she can barely entertain. Until a newcomer, Robert, arrives in Talting for the summer…

Can Rose allow herself the chance to love again?

Get lost in Victoria Walters’ immensely touching debut novel, and discover a world that will capture your imagination and heart.

*Amazon RISING STAR*

Readers are falling in love with THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE:

‘A beautiful story – full of heart’ Giovanna Fletcher

‘A sobtastic story’ Red Online

‘Just darn brilliant’ Look

‘Brilliant and superior women’s fiction’ Heat

‘Heartbreaking and heart-awakening’ Lisa Dickenson

vrpca

Review:

„ But the problem with moments is when you know you won’t have any more of them, they become infinitely more significant.

I wish I had treasured the moments more at the time but that’s the problem with moments, you never know when you are about to have your last one.“

 

The Second Love of my Life is a story about a young woman named Rose who lost the man she supposed to spend her life with. Two years after the horrible accident that left her without her husband, she is still trying to pick up the pieces of herself.

Saying that I liked this book would feel like underrating it. Saying that I loved it would still feel like underrating it.
That is the problem when it comes to reviewing a book you feel like is one of the best pieces you have read in months.
No matter how hard you try to put your feelings out there, you just feel like there’s no review that could do it justice.

I am so grateful that I had an opportunity to read this book and to discover this amazing writer while she is still a debut author.
Victoria Walter’s writing style is so beautiful and I have a feeling we will read a lot of her work in the future. At least I hope we will.

She captured Rose‘s inner struggle in such a beautiful and yet realistic way, that I, as a reader, wanted to transform myself there, in an imaginary town called Talting, and be there for her.
It was hard at some parts reading how terrible Rose had felt, but at the same time, there was beauty in it.
Reading this book was a bautiful experiance.
Books like this one are the reason why I read.

I liked every character in this book, which is a rare thing for me.
I already read Walter’s short story The Summer I Met You (and I liked it) in which we follow Rose’s best friend Emma. Even though I liked her there, I can honestly say that I liked her here, as a side character, even more.

I loved the atmosphere in this book. Reading about small towns and it’s residents are what I usually enjoy and reading about Talting was no exception.

However, my favorite part in this book was the one that’s taking place in Scotland.
The reason for that is not the place, but the realisation that came to a certain character there.

Overall, reading The Second Love of My Life was an emotional ride I am glad I took.
I am so happy I discovered this author and I can’t wait to read her next book, even though I don’t know when that will be.
At this point, it doesn’t even matter, because this book convinced me that it will be worth waiting for it.
In the meantime, I am sure I will re-read The Second Love of My Life few times (or more).

4,75

Advertisements

6 thoughts on “Book Review: The Second Love of My Life by Victoria Walters

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s