Movie Monday: Speak and In the Heart of the Sea

Movie Monday is a weekly feature here on my blog, in which I’m rambling about movies I’ve watched lately.

This week I watched two movies, both based on books.

 

In the Heart of the Sea

in the heart of the sea

This movie is based, if I’m not mistaking, of a novel that inspired Herman Mellvile to write his well-known classic Moby Dick.

I have never read Moby Dick, and my impression of that novel was that it basically tells the story about a man who was obssesed with the whale in a too long and probably boring way.
In other words, I had no intentions to read it. Ever.

But when it came to this movie, I didn’t mind watching it. I mean, from the trailer it was obvious it is full of beautful scenes, those with nature and those with Chris Hemsworth.

In the end, it was not just the scenes I ended up enjoying, but the whole story was pretty good too.
I learned that my first toughts about Moby Dick were not right at all. This story talks about some serious things, about lost lives and, even if it’s fiction, it shows us one part of the history.

Today, I am very greatful I watched it and, even though I can’t say I have an urge to read the book now, I can say that I don’t think it is probably just a boring book anymore.

 

Speak

speak

This movie, filmed in 2004 is based on ya novel written by Laurie Halse Anderson.

I wanted to watch it for years now, but didn’t have a chance until now.

This story cover one very important topic – rape. It follows a girl who is a victim and her struggle while she tries to deal with it on her own, not telling anyone what happened to her and trying to ignore it, even though she can’t.

This movie made me so emotional I even cought myself crying couple of times.

I don’t even think I can tell you how beautiful in my eyes this movie was.
I highly, HIGHLY suggest you to watch it.

 

Note: Pictures in this post are not my property but taken from IMDb site and are property of Warner Bros. Pictures  and Showtime.

7 thoughts on “Movie Monday: Speak and In the Heart of the Sea

  1. I first seen Speak years ago without ever knowing it was based on a book and just from watching it I thought it was one of the most emotional movies I’ve ever seen. It deals with this hugely important and current issue in such a delicate way and the actors really brought the characters to life. I think it’s time I need to read the book!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, actors did a great job and you’re right, it was one of the most emotional movies I have also seen.
      I haven’t read the book either. I’ve heard that in the book that guy that raped her is so much worse then he was portrayed in the movie.

      Like

  2. Oh I LOVE Speak (movie and book). I remember when it first premiered on Lifetime (I didn’t even know they were making it into a TV Movie)… but I can remember thinking that the girl they got to play Melinda was PERFECT. And then she ended up super famous, so I guess it really was good casting. Anyhow, I definitely think it’s one of the best TV Movies I’ve ever seen.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

