Peanuts & Eggcups Book Review (Blog Tour)

Peanuts & Egg Cups FRONT

I had an opportunity to be today’s host on Peanuts & Eggcups blog tour.
I want to thank Rachel from Autoright for giving me this chance.

spoiler vrpca

About the book:

For Maggie Parsons there’s only ever been one man: the stunningly delicious Luke Henderson. Unfortunately, he left her, without explanation, after their ‘first night’ together …breaking her heart in the process. Now ten years on, without any contact, he’s back and going to her school reunion. Great! And, to confuse matters…so is his suave, sexy, brother Tony who makes a major play for Maggie, then turns up with his insufferable – supposedly ex – fiancée! Via the reunion, a black eye, getting the sack (as a result) a madcap girlie holiday and juggling her confused emotions around the two alluring brothers…Maggie starts to build a picture of what she really wants in life. Trouble is, Maggie’s a pawn in a game she doesn’t even know she’s playing …and things are about to get a whole lot more complicated.

spoiler vrpca

My Review:

Going into this book I had no idea what to expect.
It was pitched as perfect read for fans of Sophie Kinsella and I wanted to give it a try.

The story follows Maggie, a clumsy and in one way immature twenty-something girl who still wonders why her ex boyfriend Luke just dissapeared on her when they finished highschool.
As story progresses, it gets more complicated, she develops a crush on Luke’s brother Tony and somewhere in the middle she loses her job.

I enjoyed reading scenes that involved Luke and, at times, those scenes even made me emotional.

The characters in this book were gray as I like them. They weren’t one dimensional.

However, from the begining I tought there were too many people Maggie and her friends were talking about. They were often takling about things and people that not that weren’t important for the book, but were often unnecessary.

As a matter of fact, this whole book was full of unnecessary situations and the writing style was too descriptive for my tase.
It was like reading a soap opera.
At times, I had a feeling I was reading someone’s first draft of a book that was written just for the purpose of practice.
It was way too long and, if you ask me, it could have been at least 200 pages shorter.

All in all, this was a solid read with funny situations and mostly likeable characters.

2,75

spoiler vrpca

About Sara Mendes da Costa

Sara Mendes da Costa is the voice of the BT Speaking Clock; the fourth person to hold this prestigious title since 1936.

A successful, world-renowned voiceover artist, her dulcet tones are easily recognisable on television, radio, film and across countless media.

Never far from the press, she’s known for her appearances on BBC Breakfast, ITV This Morning, Children in Need, Wake up to Wogan and The Today Programme, and balances her prolific voiceover career with her passion and commitment as a novelist.

Peanuts & Eggcups, her debut novel – hotly anticipated by the industry – is “The perfect & highly addictive reading companion for women’s fiction fans”. `

A lover of laughter, creativity, great storytelling and a wee dram, Sara adores writing novels and seeks to entertain, uplift and inspire.

Her upcoming novels: Time & Time Again & Maggie Ever After, are expected in 2017.

Visit: www.saramendesdacosta.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/speakingclock.saramendesdacosta

Twitter: https://twitter.com/BTSpeakingClock

spoiler vrpca

Follow the tour:

Peanuts and Eggcups Banner tour

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Peanuts & Eggcups Book Review (Blog Tour)

  1. I have read other reviews of this book, from the tour. It seems a common thought that it is a very long book. I love the title and the cover, but am hesitant to read long books, when I have so many great sounding books to get through. Praised as enjoyable for Kinsella lovers is attractive sounding. I will keep this book in mind for maybe a later day.
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Amanda! I know what you mean, I’m also hesitant when it comes to long books by author I haven’t read before. If Lindsey Kelk, Sophie Kinsella or Jane Costella wrote a book 700+ pages long I wouldn’t mind, but when you don’t know how you’re gonna like the writing style, it’s a bit tuff decision.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s