The Moment She Left: Book Review + Giveaway (Blog Tour)

the moment she left

I am so happy to paticipate in The Moment She Left blog tour.
I really enjoyed reading this novel and I would like to thank Louise Page for giving me this opportunity.

movie monday vrpca

the moment picture

movie monday vrpca

My Review:

„How easily loved ones could become strangers, how disturbing when strangers were those you loved.“

The Moment She Left centres around Jessica‘s dissapearance. Two years ago, a young girl should have come home from London, where she studied. She spoke to her brother on the phone, told him she was on her way to the train station, but she nev er showed up.
Today, there is still no clue where Jessica is or is she alive.

Going into the story, taught by my previous experience with Susan Lewis’ books, I knew this novel will be character rich.
The story follows more then few characters, with significant difference in their age and all of them were pretty good developed.
Once again, I had a feeling that the writer knows the soul of her characters and if you asked her any irrelevant question about any of her characters, she would give you the answer immediately.

Even though this is a crime fiction because the main theme is the dissapearance of a young girl, this could also be read as a family prose or just general fiction, because, in my opinon, it has even more elements that are specific to that genres.
This story talks not just about resolving a mystery or a problem, but it also covers some life important topics (like dealing with illnes that can not be cured or going through the divorce).

All of the characters and all of their stories intertwine and together they make a whole circle.

It took me more then few days to finish this book, but I don’t mind.
I find Susan Lewis’ writing style the one I like to take my time with, so I really get the best from the story.

I can’t say that this story kept me on the edge of my seat, but I can say that, while not reading, I caught myself more then couple of times thinking about it and trying to resolve the mystery myself.

Unfortunately, I wasn’t good at guessing.
The reason I say unfortunately is not because I wasn’t satisfied with the end, because I was.
It was because in my version the end was happier for some characters.

In the very end, all of the questions were answered and I was very pleased with that.
There is only one answer we probably never will get, but  I don’t mind because some questions never get their answers. That is the reality.

4

movie monday vrpca

Giveaway (UK Only)

the girl

Penguin Random House UK was kind enough to offer Susan Lewis’ previous book The Girl Who Came Back for the giveaway. This book recently came out in paperback edition and you can win yourself a copy here.

If you want, you can read my review for The Girl Who Came Back here.

This giveaway is UK only!!

 

Enter here:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

movie monday vrpca

Follow the tour:

 

the moment thumbnail_Blog-tour-banner1https://widget-prime.rafflecopter.com/launch.js

11 thoughts on “The Moment She Left: Book Review + Giveaway (Blog Tour)

  1. Great review as always Irena. You will see mine up tomorrow. I entered your competition and am over to read your review of The Girl Who Came Back now.
    Amanda.

    ps. Thanks for the recommendation of Susan Lewis, I now have a whole load more books to read.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Great review! I like that you reminded me we don’t always get all the answers in life, as I tend to demand books to do so 🙂 I will check out the author, I am really intrigued by this book!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Book Review: The Moment She Left, by Susan Lewis. #Giveaway | ChocolatePages

Leave a Reply

