Novella Review: A Cotswold Christmas by Kate Hewitt

a-cotswold-christmas

Title: A Cotswold Christmas
Series: Willoughby Close (#0,5)
Author: Kate Hewitt
Publisher: Tule Publishing
Date: October 17th, 2016
Pages: 112
Format: eARC
Source: from Publisher for a review

 

Synopsis (from Goodreads): Welcome to Wychwood-on-Lea… a not-too-quaint village where frosty evenings, welcoming fires, and second chances will make this a Christmas you’ll never forget.

Anna Vere has escaped to the Cotswolds for Christmas to try to heal from her broken engagement and, far worse, her broken dreams. When her reserved room at a bed & breakfast is flooded, she takes up the offer of camping out in Willoughby Close, the converted stables of the nearby manor house… and is taken under the wing of sexy local carpenter Colin Heath.

What starts out as merely helping a neighbor in need turns into far more as Colin and Anna share a surprisingly intense and emotional connection, weaving their own Christmas magic as they spend the holiday together. But Anna has a secret she’s scared to reveal, something that could destroy the fragile bond they’ve just created, and Colin knows she’s only in England for a short time. Can these two sudden soul mates risk their hearts for a love that has yet to be tried and tested?

Get swept away by this poignant and heartwarming story, set in beautiful Wychwood-on-Lea, in the English Cotswolds. And look forward to four more books set in Willoughby Close, where everyday miracles and happily-ever-afters are guaranteed.

vrpca

Review:

I always judge books by their covers.
I know I shouldn’t do it, but I can’t help myself.
If the book has pretty cover, I expect pretty story on it’s pages.
This novella wasn’t exception!

This is from where it all went down. Pretty cover seduced me, and my expectations were high as London Eye. I blame the cover, but I also blame some great festive books I read recently.

A Cotswold Christmas follows the story of Anna, a 35 years old woman who had some trouble in her life and needs to get away from everything for holidays.
She booked a stay in village called Wychwood-on-Lea but not everything goes as planned.
The roomes are flooded so she has to find another stay.
That’s where Colin, a hot 36 years old man comes in. At first he’s just a guy who saves the day, but as more time passes, Colin and Anna feel the chemistry they can’t deny.

First of all, the writing style was pretty solid. This book reads really quickly and many people will probably finish it in one sitting.

Characters were okay. I know that does not sound so good, but I guess I can’t find another word to describe them really.
I can’t say I loved or liked them, but I can’t say I hated them either.
What I can say is that I never felt any connection to any of them and that I didn’t quite understand them.

The story wasn’t what I expected, but even if we put all the expectations aside, it just felt flat for me and I can’t say I enjoyed it.

I think that the love was developing way too quickly.
After spending only three days together they already planned their life together and who’ll have to give up on their previous life in order to be together.
If there were teenagers main protagonists, I would tolerate that because when you’re young and experiencing love for the first time, you can act that way.
But seeing grown ups acting like that was just ridiculous!

In fact, characters were mainly acting like teenagers. They felt that huge attraction but were afraid to sleep together, which was insane because we’re talking about single 35 and 36 years old people.
Of course, when they finally shagged, it was all hearts and rainbows…
I almost forgot how it feels to roll your eyes while reading, but this book helped me to remember!

However, I have to say that as the story progressed, the book was getting better and I honestly felt like the end would save it all.
In the end it didn’t go in a way I hoped it would, but it was still better then first two thirds of the book.

Overall, this was an okay book to read in a day.
From other reviews I read, I figured out that I am in minority, that other people liked it better, so maybe it was just me.
Whatever the case is, I won’t continue with this series.

2,5

7 thoughts on “Novella Review: A Cotswold Christmas by Kate Hewitt

  1. There is a lot of competition of good Christmassy books out there, and it is very easy to get seduced by a pretty cover. Its very disappointing when that happens, but I hope the other Christmas books will make up for it. Do you have a favourite one so far?
    Amanda.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

