Book Review: The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even by Anna Bell

the-good-girlfriends

Title: The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even
Author: Anna Bell
Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre
Date: January 26th, 2017
Pages: 432
Format: eARC
Source: from Publisher for review

 

Synopsis (from Goodreads): ‘Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella’. Another hilarious and heart-warming romantic comedy from bestselling author Anna Bell

When Lexi’s sport-mad boyfriend Will skips her friend’s wedding to watch football – after pretending to have food poisoning – it might just be the final whistle for their relationship.

But fed up of just getting mad, Lexi decides to even the score. And, when a couple of lost tickets and an ‘accidentally’ broken television lead to them spending extra time together, she’s delighted to realise that revenge might be the best thing that’s happened to their relationship.

And if her clever acts of sabotage prove to be a popular subject for her blog, what harm can that do? It’s not as if he’ll ever find out . . .

vrpca

Review:

Anna Bell is an author who has been on my tbr list for a very, very long time.
Ever since I found out about her book The Bucket List to Mend a Broken Heart and heard so many amazing things about her work, I wanted to give her a chance.
After putting it off for the longest time, I was lucky enough and got a chance to read her newest novel, The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even.

I am so glad I read this funny novel with the longest title ever, because I fell in love with Bell’s writing style, and with the positive atmosphere she created, that was present through the whole story.

This book follows the story of Lexi, a 29 old woman who’s boyfriend (Will) is obsessed with sports.
Dating him and watching all the games is not always easy for Lexi, but she found her way to deal with that (like reading books on her e-reader when her boyfriend watches a game she is not interested in), but when Will fakes stomach flu so he wouldn’t go to Lexi’s best friend’s wedding, and goes to the game instead, Lexi decides it is time for her to get even.

First of all, let me just say that egocentric in me enjoyed reading this book and my approach to this story is 100% subjective.
You see, I could relate to Lexi so much, because her Will reminded me of my boyfriend. I mean it, they are so alike, it’s like the author based Will’s character on him.
Even their whole relationship situation was almost the same as ours, and when I was talking to my man about this book, he was sure I was making it up, just to entertain him.
“No”, I said “but Anna Bell wrote the story I should have written (because sometimes I like to think I was destined to write a good book one day), because it’s like reading my life on those pages. I KNOW what she’s talking about, to the core!”

The writing style was really, really good!
The story itself was great, but the way the author told us the story is even better. It reminded me of Sophie Kinsella’s style in a way.

I laughed so many times while reading, was entertained the whole time.

I was also curious (and because of subjective reason a bit worried how the story’s going to conclude) because, even though to some readers this story was predictable, I really had no idea in which direction it was going.

The things I think could have been better in this story are:
– I wish we got more romantic/cute scenes with Will and Lexi.
– I wish there was stronger character development. We said goodbye to the same Lexi and Will we met at the very beginning of the story.
– I don’t think Will’s reason to miss the wedding was strong enough.

I am so glad I read The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even, and I am looking forward to read more of Bell’s work.

If you’re a chick lit lover, this book is the one you don’t want to miss.

4,5

Advertisements

4 thoughts on “Book Review: The Good Girlfriend’s Guide to Getting Even by Anna Bell

  1. Probably not a book I would have picked up based on the title, but after reading your review – comparisons to Sophie kinsella and your relationship, now I’m really intrigued. Great review and I’m glad you really enjoyed it.
    Amanda

    Like

  2. Pingback: Sunday Post (Weekly Wrap Up Jan. 23rd – 29th) | Book Dust Magic

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s