The one with intelligent humour: Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe by Preston Norton (Book Review) #BookReview #ComingOfAge #YoungAdult #Contemporary #BookLovers

Title: Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe
Author: Preston Norton
Publisher: Disney-Hyperion
Date: May 22nd, 2018
Pages: 410
Format: eARC
Source: from Publisher for a review

Review:

Warning: This novel contains strong language and touches the topic of suicide.

Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe is the one novel I feel like I had on my kindle app for the longest time. I got it unsolicited from the publisher (which I’m very thankful for) way before it was published, and then at first I saved it so I could read it closer to it’s releasing day, but then life got in a way, I hit that blogging and reviewing slump, and this book was one of the victims of the mental state I was in.

As Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe was on many bloggers lists of favorite books of 2018, I decided it was the time for me to read this book myself, and now when I finished it, I only feel sorry I didn’t get this book a chance sooner, because it was amazing!

The story follows Cliff who is known at school as Neanderthal because of his height. He got into fight with a popular boy at school, Aaron Zimmerman, and he is on his mission to get revenge.
However, after nearly death experience Aaron comes back to school claiming that God spoke to him, and gave him the list to make their high school a better place, and Cliff is the chosen one to help him complete the list.
From there we watch a new friendship being born and follow our main characters on their adventure to discover life.

First of all, this book is really funny. It talks about serious topics like poverty and suicide, but it still has that intelligent humour that never came over board. I really appreciate it for that.
Second, the way serious topics and problems were talked about made me appreciate this novel even more, because it touches important things, but never loses that light tone.

I think that I’ve read that this novel is perfect for fans of John Green and I agree, but also I have to stress out that there is something unique that Preston Norton gave to this story, something that is entirely his.

I know, in my reviews, I usually say that I want to read author’s other books, but this time I’ll say I know I will read Norton’s next novel, because there is no way I’m going to let myself miss it. I will probably read it as soon as it comes out!

As you probably guessed, Neanderthal Opens the Door to the Universe impressed me, and if I read it last year, it would probably on my list of favorites too, but there is a big chance it shows up on my 2019 favorite lists.

If you like ya contemporary and coming of age stories, trust me, you do not want to miss this one!

Advertisements

Manga Review: Alice In Wonderland – Special Collector’s Manga by Jun Abe

alice in wonderland disney

Title: Alice In Wonderland
Author: Jun Abe
Publisher: Diamond Book Distributors
Date: June 7th, 2016
Format: eARC
Source: from Publisher for a review

 

Synopsis (from Goodreads): Manga publishing pioneer TOKYOPOP is back … bringing readers Disney Tim Burton’s “Alice in Wonderland,” a retelling of the film in manga style. Alice Kingsleigh was a young girl when she visited the magical world of Underland for the first time. Now a teenager, she spots a white rabbit at a garden party and tumbles down a hole after him where she is reunited with her old friends. Alice soon learns it is her destiny to end the Red Queen’s reign of terror.

vrpca

Review:

If you’re a fan of Disney’s Alice In Wonderland movie (from year 2010), there’s a great chance you will LOVE this manga.
Why?
Because it is almost exactly the same.

For those of you who still haven’t seen that fantastic movie produced by Tim Burton (What you are waiting for??!), here is what the story is about:

Several years has passed and Alice is a grown girl now, old enough to get married and start her own family. However, Alice does not feel comfortable with that and she still finds herself daydreaming everyday: wondering how it would be like to be able to fly, picturing the impossible.
Her nights are filled with dreams of Wonderland and all those silly creatures that live there.
One day, as she is older, she sees a rabbit with clock and starts following him around.
You can guess what happens next!
You’re right! She falls into a whole that leads her back to Wonderland.

I really, really enjoyed this story.
If you didn’t know, I am a huge fan of the movie, so it is no wonder that I enjoyed this manga so much.

As I already said, it is almost exactly the same as the movie.
The only difference I noticed is that at the beginning of manga we get to see Alice as a little girl and her father talking with her before her sleeptime, while in the movie Alice told us about that, but we didn’t get to see it.

I liked the art in this manga. Characters looked so much better then in the movie (not sure if that is unintentional critic for the actors but… bare with me). Alice and the White Rabbit were so beautiful but yet simple, and as for Hamish – he looked like a model here. So much more handsome then Hamish from the movie (again, every insult aimed at actor is unintentional).

There is only one character that I didn’t like how was drawn, and that is Mad Hatter. While in movie he looked perfectly (and I was never  too crazy about Johnny Depp so that has nothing to do with him), here in manga he looked like a weird skinni woman.

All in all, I would recommend this manga to everyone who likes the movie but also to anyone who still hasn’t seen it.
But, if you disliked the movie, you probably wouldn’t like the manga either, so I would suggest you to skip this.

4