Movie Monday: Split

Movie Monday is a weekly feature here on my blog, in which I’m rambling about movies I’ve watched lately.

This week I watched an amazing thriller that scared the shit out of me (excuse my french).

 

Split

split Split is one of those movies which, after watching it’s trailer, you can’t ignore.
You think about it all the time and simply can’t wait to watch it.
At least that is how it was in my case. I was so obsessed with Split, even before I watched it, that I even had a nightmare in which that Denis guy abducted me. I don’t think I have to stress out how creepy it was.
If you dare, you can see the trailer here.

The movie follows the story of a schizophrenic guy with 23 different personalities, living in one body.
He abducted 3 girls with only one purpose: to give them to “the beast”.

I watched this movie with 4 friends, and I was the one who liked it the best.
My friends said it was really good, but to me, it was amazing.

James McAvoy is such a good actor. One of the best ones out there. The way he potrayed those different pesonalities is beyond me. He managed to transform his face in a way that we could guess just from his expressions who was in the light at the moment (read, who is in charge of the body).

The story itself was creepy enough, but the subplot is what’s even more scary (Casey’s story).

I knew everyone talks about the end even before I’ve seen the movie (but I managed to avoid the discussion so I wouldn’t spoil myself).
However, I have to admit that, once I saw it, I didn’t understand it (famous actor cameo). Thanks to the online community, now I know what was so special about the ending and, even though I don’t remember I watched the movie Split was linked to, I still appreciate how the director connected two movies.

If you’re not scared too easily, please go watch this movie. It was so good, it’s no surprise everyone talks about it at the moment.

 

IMPORTANT

Quick note: After posting my movie review, I was told (and researched it afterwards) that DID is NOT schizophrenia.
I didn’t want to offend anyone and thanks to the community, I now know so much more about DID.
I also found out how people with DID are offended with this movie, because it portraited them in a wrong way, as violent persons.

I want to state that Split is piece of fiction, and most people do know how to separate fiction from reality, but there will always be people who take everything they see as facts.
I feel sorry for people with DID to feel that way, but I also, once again, want to stress out that this movie is piece of fiction and I take it as it is.

 

Note: Picture in this post is not my property but taken from IMDb site and is property of UniversalPictures.

Advertisements

The Secret Life of Lucy Lovecake Book Review (Blog Tour)

the-secret-life-of-lucy-lovecake

I am so happy to be today’s host in The Secret Life of Lucy Lovecake Blog Tour.
I really enjoyed reading this book and I am excited to share my review.
I’d like to thank Janne Moller from Black & White Publishing, for giving me this opportunity.

spoiler vrpca

About the book:

Daisy Delaney’s life is pancake-flat. A talented baker and passionate lingerie specialist, she has wound up with no one to bake for and a career that hasn’t proved successful. But when she starts a delicious relationship with famous French author-chef, Michel Amiel, everything begins to look a bit more exciting.

That is until Michel’s bestselling cookbook is knocked off the top spot by newcomer ‘Lucy Lovecake’. His outdated recipes slide down the charts, while the popularity of Lucy Lovecake’s new dating cookbook is rising like the perfect sponge.

As Daisy teeters on the brink of love, how can she ever tell Michel that she is the mysterious Lucy Lovecake? Could he ever forgive her for finishing off his career? And more importantly, does Daisy even want to be with a difficult, egotistical, down-on-his-luck Frenchman just as her career is beginning to take off? Especially when she has some other very interesting offers…

the-secret-life-packing

spoiler vrpca

My Review

They say “Don’t judge a book by it’s cover”, but when it comes to The Secret of Lucy Lovecake, you should.
Why?
Because the story of this novel is exactly like the cover – girly and cute.

However, when it comes to synopsis, in this particular case, the story does not follow it in a way one would expect. Everything that’s being said is true, but there’s also a big part of the story that hasn’t been mentioned.
This is a story that talks about love interest and Daisy keeping secret from her lover, but it also talks about aspiring author on her way to become a published one, and her life after having a best-seller.

I really appreciated that aspect of the story, because it showed what publishing a book looks like, and in a way it made me learn something I didn’t know before.
I think mentioning it in synopsis wouldn’t hurt.

The story is written in first person, following Daisy’s POV.
Daisy’s voice is quirky and is really easy to read.
With really short chapters (84 in total) the book reads pretty quickly, and it is very likely that faster readers will finish it in one sitting.

On a quick note, I think the story would have been better without first four chapters (in those chapters we got to see Daisy’s life now when her book is bestseller, and then we go back into the past and follow the story from the beginning).

I liked characters in this story.
The one that stands out the most was Michel Amiel, who is also Daisy’s love interest.
I know it is stated that he is her boyfriend, but I wouldn’t use that word to define him.
He’s very complex and there is so much more then meets the eye when it comes to him. He suffers from depression, self medicates it with alcohol, he is very self centred, grumpy and overall one bitter man.
On the other hand, he can be fun and sweet.

Since this story is told from Daisy perspective, I wish the author (or should I say Daisy) gave us a chance to fall in love with him, or just like him better.
I mean, Daisy likes him, but we don’t see what she likes about him. Almost everytime she talked about him or described scenes with him, there was something problematic about him.
I wish we got to see why she fell for him.
Honestly, I feel like there was more connection between Daisy and Michel’s mother then between the two of them.

The end was very sweet and cute.
I can’t say I was 100% satisfied with the way the story was wrapped up, because it felt like the author decided to turn a blind eye on Michel’s depression (or maybe that is something that will get more attention in the next book).

Overall The Secret Life of Lucy Lovecake is a fun novel that I would highly recommend to chick-lit lovers.

3,75

spoiler vrpca

About Pippa James:

Pippa James is a full-time writer with a love for food, fashion and all things French. She is best known as Janey Louise Jones, author of the fantastically successful Princess Poppy series, with sales of over 4 million copies to date. Before Princess Poppy took over her life, Pippa James had always intended to write contemporary fiction and this debut novel is the start of a brand new series, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes and Sophie Kinsella.

spoiler vrpca

Follow the tour:

the-secret-life-blog-tour