Movie Monday: A Monster Calls #MovieReview #MovieMonday #Movie #AMonsterCalls

Movie Monday is a feature here on my blog, in which I’m rambling about movies I’ve watched lately.

This week I watched the saddest movie ever, and that is all I’ll say.

A Monster Calls

A Monster Calls is a well-known novel by Patrick Ness. It is a middle grade novel that talks about the boy who’s mother is sick, and the way he deals with her sickness, with the possibility of losing her.
I haven’t read the book, even though I always wanted to.

This week I had a chance to watch the movie, and even though I planned to read the book before, I decided I would give a movie a try anyway.

I watched it alone, and I am so glad I did, because the whole time while watching it, I was a mess. This movie destroyed me with it’s sadness and I was crying the whole time.
I watched many sad movies in my lifetime, but I have never ever cried so much, as I did when watching A Monster Calls.
I also have a need to stress out that I am not a big crier.

The story is not only sad, but also very beautiful. I can’t compare the book and the movie since I haven’t read the book, but I can tell you that the movie is very well done. I liked not only story, but the picture and the effects too.

It has 7,5 points on IMDb site, and it’s for a reason.

I’m not going to tell you too much about it, because I think it’s the best to go into it without much expectations, but I will tell you that this movie is not pure drama, but has fantasy elements too (the monster our main character created to deal with his mother’s sickness) and some parts are also animated (stories that the monster tells).

The cast is well known which surprised me. Felicity Jones plays the mother, Sigourney Weaver grandmother, and Liam Neeson gives his voice to a monster.

I think A Monster Calls is one of those movies/stories which after you finish you feel like you gained something out of it, like you are wiser then you were before.

I would highly, highly recommend it.

21 thoughts on “Movie Monday: A Monster Calls #MovieReview #MovieMonday #Movie #AMonsterCalls”

  1. When I started reading your post, I was thinking great review but this is not a film for me. Then by the end of your review, especially when you said “we would gain something from it”, I changed my mind. Sometimes we need to watch or read sad things to learn and get our thoughts going.
    Fab review Irena.
    Amanda xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but the book was such a good read – devastating, yet strangely encouraging. It’s one of the best books on grief and the struggle that comes with a loved one’s long-term illness that I’ve ever read. I cried buckets. Thanks for the review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Fun read. I read the book when I was a little little, and it is good to hear it seems the movie continues the magic of the book. When translating one medium to another (book to movie in this case) it is easy to lose what makes the piece special. I just wish more people would be acceptable of the things that need to be altered in order for it to work in a new medium. An example of a well done switch are the Harry Potter films, although not 100% true to the books.

    Like

  4. I’ve been meaning to read this book for a while and I always prefer reading the book first so I haven’t seen this film yet! I would definitely cry my through it though haha, I cry at everything. It sounds like such a beautiful story, would love to read and watch this film! X

    Evie x | https://eviejayne.co.uk

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’ll see if I can stream it after the little one hits the hay! It sounds really good. It looks like it was released long after I was a kid and before I had my own, so I hadn’t heard of the book. It’s usually better to go into films if you haven’t read the book anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.