Movie Monday: Aquaman – fascinating picture that surprised me with it’s beauty #MovieReview #Aquaman #DCComics #SuperHeros #MovieMonday

Movie Monday is a feature here on my blog, in which I’m rambling about movies I’ve watched lately.

This week I watched Aquaman, the movie everyone talks about. After seeing it, I understand why.

Aquaman

This week me and my fiance decided to go to movies. We haven’t been for a long time, so I kind of missed it.
Since I wanted to see the last movie in Harry Potter franchise (sorry, can’t remember the name right now, but you probably know the one I’m talking about), and there weren’t any available tickets (because it plays in only one room), we had to choose another movie.

So we picked Aquaman, and I am so glad we did.

I love superhero movies, but I have to admit that my expectations for this particular one weren’t so high.
I have to admit that I’ve never read comics about Aquaman, so I wasn’t familiar with his story. Therefore, I couldn’t even imagine that his story would be interesting.

Now, I am so glad I saw this film! And I am very, very glad I watched it in the movie teatre, because I am 100% sure that I got the most out of it that way.

I fell in love with this world. From my perspective, Aquaman has the richest world out of all superhero movies I’ve seen so far. And it is so fascinating.
It was like watching an urban fantasy, at times I even forgot this was a superhero movie.

I loved the scenes under the sea. I loved the kingdoms and the whole story of Atlantis.

I even had an AHA moment while watching. I realized how little I actually know about history and decided I will work on that.

The movie is pretty long (2h23min), but I understand why. It has to be long to give you the tale of everything, to build the world and to develop the storyline.

If you haven’t seen the Aquaman yet, but you thought about it, I highly, highly encourage you to go to the cinema and watch it there. Trust me, this movie is the one you have to watch in the movie teatre, because it would be a shame not to fully experience all of it’s beauty and awesomeness!

15 thoughts on “Movie Monday: Aquaman – fascinating picture that surprised me with it’s beauty #MovieReview #Aquaman #DCComics #SuperHeros #MovieMonday”

  1. Glad you had fun. I think the other film you’re talking about is Fantastic Beasts? I heard of aquaman. Nice review. How were female roles represented in this film? Often superhero films fail to empower women, but hopefully after the #MeToo campaign they are now a bit wiser and nicer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have heard some really negative reviews of this film and it is great to see a positive one! I must admit to being intrigued by the trailer – as a history student who loves mythology I’m really keen to see how they created Atlantis! Time to book myself a cinema ticket!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I haven’t been to the cinema in ages either. I think any film you see in the theatre is much better than watching it at home. I’m not a fan of super hero films (or books), but I like the idea of the graphics of the under water world in big screen.
    Amanda.xx

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved this movie! I will admit I was a little concerned as DC is not the best at producing movies compared to Marvel, but I think they hit this right on the head. I loved the underwater scenes and the world they created. My only qualm is how they used the actor who played the Green Goblin in the first Spiderman’s. It’s just weird how they allowed an actor crossover like that. I honestly cannot visualize him as anything but Green Goblin lol

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.